How To Revoke Shared Access

The File Owner can revoke access to the data contained in the folder anytime. This feature is extremely useful when a collaborator leaves a collaboration group, or an employee leaves a company. To revoke access, follow the steps below:

  1. On the File Owner’s view of the Folder Sharing Information dialogue box, click on the box to the left of the name of the user who you would like to remove.
  2. Under  “Folder Membership” click “Closed”
  3. Click "Apply"
(Mac/OSX) 

sssharedrevoke.png

 (Windows)

If you close the ‘Shared With’ window and reopen it, the name you unchecked will no longer be there. This function takes away the user’s ability to access the data on all platforms. The system will refuse access to this data even if that user burned the data onto a CD, emailed the data, or put the data on a memory stick. 
If this function was performed by accident, the owner can simply change the “Folder Membership” back to “Open” and click the “Apply” button. The user would then be able to access the information once again.

 

Have more questions? Submit a request

0 Comments

Please sign in to leave a comment.
Powered by Zendesk